Sins of a Solar Empire : Real-Time Strategy. Unrivalled Scale.
© 2003-2016 Ironclad Games Corporation Vancouver, BC. All rights reserved.
© 2006-2016 Stardock Entertainment

LAN game problem - Help about making a lan game

By on November 23, 2011 12:41:11 PM from Sins of a Solar Empire Forums Sins of a Solar Empire Forums

Mysterious_07

Join Date 11/2011

Hey everyone, i am new to sins of a solar empire and this community.

I tried to play LAN with my friend, and when i made the game he couldn't see it, and vice versa, i also noticed that beside the game list there is "IP" and "Port" what is their function?? can i connect directly with IP? if i can, how to?

i am really confused, it would be much better is someone posts a step by step to tutorial to play LAN.

i really appreciate ant help!! 

Locked Post 20 Replies
Search this post
Subscription Options

Reason for Karma (Optional)
Successfully updated karma reason!
November 23, 2011 8:18:11 PM from Sins of a Solar Empire Forums Sins of a Solar Empire Forums

As far as I know, there's no reason to change "Port", whatever number that is there you should probably just leave alone...what you will need to do is enter an IP address to connect to...

Let's say your friend is trying to connect to your computer (so basically, you are the host)...he will need to enter in your IP address to connect to the game you are hosting...

In order to find your IP address, run command prompt (either enter "cmd" in the windows "run" utility or open up command prompt under accessories)...once command prompt is open, type "ipconfig"...

Most likely, a lot of information will pop up...what you want to find is the heading "Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection" or something similar to that...listed under that should be several addresses...IIRC the one you want is usually labeled "IPv4 Address"...I could be wrong though, so if that doesn't work you may need to try some of the other addresses (like "Default Gateway")...